Meet the Diaspora Coach, Lula Abera

Michelle Whiting
3 min readJan 10, 2022

--

Image Credit: Duke Flicks Photography

Lula Abera is the Founder of Lula Abera Coaching and Consulting. She is a coach, trained facilitator, conflict resolution mediator, and organizational development consultant who works with individuals and organization leaders who want to achieve more, enhance their organizational culture and have leadership skills to build a better-balanced life.

She is passionate about uncovering and amplifying the inner stories of people within organizations and in their own lives to help them unlock new successes both collaboratively and developmentally. Her passion for facilitating dialogue has led to the creation of Lula Abera LLC designed to help those in need of coaching, and African Women Journey designed to maintain the connection in the diaspora community.

For more details, visit their website here.

Here we sit down with Lula, to know a bit more about her journey as a life coach and an org consultant.

Q. What inspired you to become an entrepreneur?

Lula: The funny part is I still don’t consider myself an entrepreneur, and it hasn’t registered just yet. The pandemic opened up my eyes, so many people I knew lost their jobs, and the potential fear of losing my job and my newfound anxiety led me to take a chance on myself by opening my own business

Q. How did you get started?

Lula: I started with researching first. I looked at what coaching and consulting businesses are available to work with the diaspora community and organizations providing immigrant equity and inclusion training. I did not find that many businesses. I started to write down what services I would like to provide, and I reached out to a peer who helped me develop the language for the work I wanted to do. It has been a long process, but I was able to launch Lula Abera Coaching and Consulting and the African Women Journey.

Image Credit: Duke Flicks Photography

Q. What was your biggest startup challenge? What steps did you take to overcome it? What did you learn?

Lula: When I was developing my business, I struggled with self-doubt. I constantly questioned myself and my ability to launch both African Women Journey and Lula Abera Coaching and Consulting. Self-doubt showed up in many ways. I would start writing a blog post for my website, and I would tell myself, “it’s not good enough, don’t post it.” I was constantly. The constant thought of my business not succeeding was draining and unproductive. I was sick of the constant self-doubt, so I hired a professional coach. The coach helped me identify my fears, desired goals and finally take action steps to launch my business. I still experience self-doubt. However, it is not as extensive as it used to be. I also have the tools to navigate self-doubt when it creeps in.

Q. What is the Most Memorable Thing You’ve Done Since you Started your Business?

Lula: Being able to work with the African Diaspora community has been rewarding.

Q. What is one book you recommend, and why?

Lula: Atomic Habits by James Clear.

Great book to help you change behavior and build healthy habits by taking small steps.

Q. What are your top 3 favourite online apps, tools, or resources and what do you love about them?

Lula: Linkedin for networking and Honeybook that helps me organize my work

Image Credit: Duke Flicks Photography

Q. In one sentence, what’s the best advice you’d give to someone just starting out on their entrepreneurial journey?

Lula: Don’t be afraid to ask for help.

To keep up to date with Lula, connect with her on Instagram.

--

--

Michelle Whiting

Copywriter, publicist & entrepreneur. Passionate about sharing empowering and informative stories from thought leaders across the globe.